Personal Life · School+Learning

Midterms Survival Guide

Hello, darlings!

So it’s been a bit since I’ve posted (I forgot about my Tumblr and this was originally published on my Tumblr page), but I just wanted to talk to you guys since it feels as if though it’s been ages!

P.S.—> my Tumblr is http://www.tgiyoutube.tumblr.com

I finished midterms (thankfully) just before the winter break, although I know such is sadly not the case for many. Trying to remember everything you learned before a good two or three-week break (even four weeks if you’re a college student) is almost as aggravating as having it crunched into the most hell-ridden week of your year! However, I’ve got some tips since I was pretty satisfied with my midterm grades this year, and I felt well-prepared for them which is a feeling I rarely have due to my times of anxiety.

tumblr_ngefl7f3jb1qc4uvwo1_500

***Take Good Notes***

This one is a little tough to fix if you’re down to the week before midterms or even there already, but if you have someone who’s willing to share their notes with you who is good at taking them, you can politely ask them if you can look at them. If not, don’t worry! There’s still hope! My suggestion is to look at your teacher’s website. Most teachers (at least at my school) will at least post or write somewhere in their classroom loose requirements for content on their exam, and this is a real lifesaver. You can jot down those requirements and do some Wikipedia searches for more information. If your teacher emphasizes something, you BETTER make sure that thing is in your notebook. Even if it’s not on the test, it’s going to help you remember what you were talking about in the class when the topic came up. In the worst case, if you have less than 16 hours before the test (including sleeping), my best suggestion is to punch in your topic on Quizlet and flip through some flashcards. It will calm you down and make you feel more prepared.

***Old Assignments***

Old assignments are the best judge of what material will be on the test. Your teacher knows that you’ve learned this stuff, and even though they might refuse to let you know, they might sneak in old homework on the problems. This has happened to me even in AP classes! If you really want to, you can even make new quizzes from your old ones and if you really want brownie points, put them on Quizlet! (I just really love Quizlet wow)

***Study!***

This is an obvious one, but it’s more about studying efficiently. Find a concise study method that works for you. A quick Google search will pull up more than enough resources, but I’ve been training my brain to use the Pomello method (25 minutes intense work, 5 minutes break, 15 minutes break every 4 intervals). So far, it’s been tough because I either work for an hour straight or fifteen minutes, but I will make it work!

***Chill and Sleep***

Studying and studying is good, but you don’t want to push yourself to the point where you feel like you are forgetting information. That is actually an unhealthy place for your brain to be, because if done over a long period of time, it can actually begin to damage your ability to remember things and cause some permanent damage that could develop into something worse later on. However, a good night’s sleep and taking regular breaks to just stretch and breathe will be enough to keep you focused while helping your brain stay healthy. Thankfully, I am more of a worry-wart than someone with chronic anxiety, but I still have gotten so worried about assignments that I have been woken up in the middle of the night. Yes, I did have a nightmare about the SAT several nights ago. Yes, it did cause me to almost be late for school. Yes, that was the first time such a thing has ever happened to me and admittedly, it worries me.

TGI-Tip: Find a relaxing song to listen to when studying. Listen to the song before you take the test. It will make you calmer.

TGI-Tip-Two: Eat a good breakfast! Have just enough that you don’t feel overfed, and choose something hearty that lasts.

***Check and Double-Check***

When taking a test, it kind of depends on how comfortable you are with the class and how you learn. If you’re more comfortable with the class or you’re an auditory learner, then going with your first choice might be more solid. You likely chose that answer because you remember your teacher saying it. However, if you’re visual or less comfortable, take the time and try to remember what you can logically piece together from your study time. You’ll thank me later 😉

Anyway, I hope this was at least somewhat helpful for you all, and I wish you only the best in your upward battle against Midterms! I believe in you whether you believe me or not!

Leave a Reply

